I would have loved to know
how it’s like to kiss you

Would it be tender?
Would it be gentle?
Would your hands explore
the terrain of my back or
Would your fingertips caress the tiny hairs
on the nape of my neck?

I would have loved to know
how our first argument pans out

Would you be insensitive?
Would I be unreasonable?
Would you ever wish you’d picked her
instead and not
have to deal with the realities
I’ve foisted upon you?

I would have loved to know
how normal with you feels like

Would we get bored
of each other?
Would our differences become more
apparent after the initial novelty
wears off?
Would I ever wish you had a more
conventional profession, something more
normal?

I would have loved to know
how it’d be like to be with you

Would you surprise me with flowers?
Would you write me a song?
Would you hold me close when I’m afraid?
Would you steal a kiss when I’m deep in thought?

 

I would have loved to know
how it’s like to love you

no, wait

 

I already do.

