Blogging.

It’s almost an old-fashioned word that’s seen better days in the early 2000s, when it was in vogue – no, mandatory – to have a blog.

Needless to say, I had my share of blogs as a teenager and a young adult – all of that adolescent angst and pent-up frustration had to go somewhere. While I did attempt to maintain a fresh site after entering the World of Lex, what with my lofty goals of discussing music, fashion, and matters of the heart, that blog never really took flight. In hindsight, I was probably too caught up with my Lex-citing life, which also zapped a substantial amount of my creative juices and/or inspiration.

The impetus to start a new page (unsurprisingly) coincided with my quasi-departure from the World of Lex (read: I’m still involved in the Lex universe, just… in a role that’s less demanding, time wise), as well as an unexpected romantic liaison – one which was transient, but exceptionally heartbreaking.

In the process of mending my broken heart, I started dabbling in watercolour painting (explains the featured image above), and I also chanced upon some excellent poetry collections from local publisher Books Actually, as well as Lang Leav‘s beautiful writing, all of which struck a raw chord with me.

Which then got me thinking – given that I’ve got more time on my hands now, and some regions of grey matter have been freed up for greater introspection, contemplation, and therefore creation – it wouldn’t be that shabby an idea to share these thoughts (whether in prose, poetry, paintings, or in music) on a blog now, would it?

Having been perpetually single my entire adult life thus far, I’ve pretty much grown accustomed to doing things alone, including that of dining (and of course, from the title of this blog, drinking) solo. While I wouldn’t say that company is overrated, one does realise that the most powerful epiphanies tend to hit when we’re left to our own devices.

Alone.

And with a (lone) glass of wine.

